zoa problem

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

luisse25

i have some zoas that are looking weird...they went a bit tiny and they dont close at night instead they are open outward like an umbrella and it doesnt look hot....lights on same thing no changes...something is wrong...any advice?pls?:(

What are your water parameters. Any information would be useful. I am no professional but I have asked the same type of questions before and they have told me the same thing so I know that the questions are coming.

everything else is doing good,except this 6 polyps zoas...so i didnt really test my water...some of my zoas did this before and then they went back to normal so i just wanna know whats causing them to do it...any idea?im thinking about doing a water change....i will do a test tomorrow..

Well is it a piece that you just got, if so did you acclimate them properly, looking at the amount of posts you have I am assuming that you have been doing this for a while. But as you probably know improper acclimation will do that. Then there is always the placement to much water flow, too little water flow, maybe you did a light change recently. Maybe you moved them closer. This is all stuff they are going to need to know in order to help you out with the situation. I know that i have had a whole colony do that and they came right back. Post some pics. Maybe that will help us out.

ok ill post a pic tomorrow,its been in my tank for 2 months now...will post pic tomorrow that way you guys can see....thanks

Hello,
Corals with large polyps usually expand to capture food prey. Try feeding small particle foods such as cyclopeeze/rotifers. If they close and capture the food they are just hungry. Generally if it is a water parameter that is bothering them they will close up tightly and not open day or night.

HTH,
Kevin