Advice please on solonoid valve for Calc Rx

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Jan

I have been running an Octopus dual-chamber calcium reactor since May, so 4 months now, and I can't get it dialed in to the point where I don't have to measure alk each day and adjust the bubble count about every 2 days. I absolutely can't get the thing adjusted to the point where the alk level stays steady. Frustration level is way up there! Last night my alk level had dropped to 6 dhk, down 1 point in 24 hours.

...what can I do to improve the situation? My solonoid valve is not the best--it's not a needle wheel--it just has a dial for adjusting the bubble count and it's supremely difficult to adjust without over-correcting. That is the root of my problem, I think.

Can I put any solonoid valve on my reactor, and what would be a really good one to use? The one I have is made by Gen-X. I want one with a very precise adjustment mechanism and one that I can better see the CO2 level as opposed to just eye-balling the bubble count.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

If yo have the genx with the single adjustment knob there should be no problem at all getting a steady bubble count.

Does your bubble count vary from day to day?
Is the regulator the one with the single knob?

Don

Don, yes, it is the one with the single knob. The bubble count will stay steady unless I mess with the knob to adjust it. I wouldn't be surprised if I'm doing everything wrong but this is how it is for me:

I measure my alk, I see that it's dropped (or risen) too much and if it continues in that direction it will go out of my desired range, so I tweak the the knob on the reactor to try to get the CO2 to correct the trend. Then it over corrects, and I tweak it again, and this goes on and on.

In short, I use my Alk measurement to indicate how well my Calc Rx is dialed in and my process (or the regulator/solonoid) is not working for me.