Breeding brine shrimp in my refigium??

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

danhamer1988

Im new to keeping a marine tank and my tank has nothing living in it yet but im having 300litres of ready mixed marine water delivered tomorrow and I have the live rock and live sand although im not sure just how "alive it is". I was thinking of adding some new live rock to the rock I have now and storing it together in a drum of saltwater for 2 weeks or so, hoping it will breath new life into the live rock a friend gave to me. The main question I was wondering is what will I need in my refigium to breed brine shrimp in it as a continuous source of food for when I get my fish and things? any water temps or particular light requirements or plant life anything like that? so far in the refigium there is live rock and live sand that's it.

Your best bet for the health of your tank & fish would be to seed your fuge & tank with Copepods and Amphipods.
Brine shrimp actually have very little nutritional value and are mostly used as a treat.
Brine Shrimp require very high salinity. Much higher then our reef aquariums. You will not be able to breed them in your fuge.

Sent from my iPhone 4s via Tapatalk.

That is not true of newly hatched brine though. They do have value when they are still feeding off their egg sack....
oh, and ifI remember right, reefs2go has a buy one get one on pods right now

Adding good live rock is always the best bet.
Brine shrimp is easy to raise if desired for feeding baby fish, but would be a total pain in the fuge.

That is not true of newly hatched brine though. They do have value when they are still feeding off their egg sack....
oh, and ifI remember right, reefs2go has a buy one get one on pods right now

Yeah good for the first 12hrs only. I was hatching them out for my Scooter. Not worth the effort.

Sent from my iPhone 4s via Tapatalk.

Adding good live rock is always the best bet.