Calcium reactor

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

FreakinReefin

Insert idiot comment
Trying to get some opinions since I am a complete newbie at calcium reactors. I purchased the Korallin C1502 complete package from a guy on Craigslist today, which is all fine and dandy except for the fact that I have no idea how it is set up or how it works, however I have a DIY reactor that I purchased several months ago. The DIY is obviously in the second picture. I am wondering if there is an advantage to using either one. I see that the korallin definitely looks more professional, however there had to be some sort of method of creation for the DIY that was based on what worked and what didn't. Can anyone see/comment??

Also, with either one, how the hell do I set it up. I know that the CO2 gets slowly leaked in and I can keep track of that with the bubble counter, and I know that water is supposed to be in the reactor with the media which is slowly dripping into the tank. Now am I supposed to have another external water source that is feeding into the reactor to refill the expressed water?

Aw crap forgot to post the pics...

Yeah the easy part is setting it up. Dialing it in can be a little challengeing. Some reactors are better than others. The most important piece of the puzzle is your regulator. I would reccomend the aquariumplant.com regulator which I will upgrade to sometime down the road. It has a built in micro processor that let the exact amount of CO2 you set into your chamber so no guess work. It is around $200 for this piece though.

did that one come with the ph probe hole in the lid? or did you get a ph controller or monitor?

Thanks for the responses guys. I am just now able to take a look at that website Tamarindthai.