DIY azoo refrigerated feeding system?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

halmus

RF Premium Member
This is kind of a vague and silly question, but I'm not a stranger to stupid questions. I'm actually the subject matter expert. So, here goes....

I studying computer science and computer engineering. I have a senior project a ways in the future. Actually a year or so off, but I want to get a head start. I've got a background in electronics already and I'm a pretty good carpenter and getting better at acrylic work. I'm considering one or two projects.

1. I'm already building my own version of the Radion lighting system. Mine will have more LED's and a wider spectrum of LED's than the manufacturer's. It will be dimmable on all channels. If I go that route for the project, I'll be working to integrate a micro controller and a GUI to control it from my desktop.

2. I've considered building a small mini-fridge that would be accessible (and marketable?) to the reefing community. Specifically, those keeping coldwater azooxanthellate systems. There are other forums out there dedicated to just that community and they're always looking for a way to modify an existing minifridge for their various feeding substances with peristalic pumps moving the feeds. The system I would be building (once again) would include a microcontroller system maintaining the temp and making the pumps controllable through timing circuits or computer interface GUI's. It's just an idea, any feedback?