DIY "LED" build "Linear Design"

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Katchupoy

Hello to all,

For months now, I have been wanting, reading, planning to phase out my current 4 year old T5 bulbs to LED. And I believe, I have reach to a point that Im going to make one for my 75. Im not going to replace all my T5 all at once, but will be replacing them strip by strip... Right now I have 4x39 and 2x54

I will try to make it as simple as possible and to make it as clear as possible also for those people who also want to make one for their tanks. So if you have any questions, fire away, and i will try my best to answer them...

Disclaimer: Im not an expert, and Im as lost as you. Never did this before, so we will try to ask the people who already did this kind of project.

Here are some of the references...

Taqpol's detailed step by step build.

Fragman's show and tell build

Moovinfast's DIY Led Build...

100 dollar DIY LED supplement (another forum)

also if you need more further reading, you can jump to the gigantic thread on another forum...
Here is the concise version.
Summarized by Fishman, scroll down the middle/bottom part.

So with all of that taken care of, lets move forward.

So here is the current setup.

75G glass
4x39 watt T5 (3 Blue, 1 Fiji)
2x54 watt T5 (2 Blue) (2 hrs on)

FULLSHOT_2010-12_T5HOX4.jpg

Im planning on removing the 2x54 watt T5 to save on electricity.

Here is the DIY Kit that i bought.
24 Ultra Premium LED DIY Kit with Dimmable Drivers (Rapidled)

I chose the dimmable so I have flexibility on acclimatize my corals and for the price difference compared to the non-dimmable, I decided to do the other.

Also, I selected the Mean Well ELN-60-48D for analog input since im not going to do arduinio or dusk or dawn effect. Maybe in the future.