Do you name your fish?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

lunchie

This might seem like a quirky thread but I was just wondering if others out there named their fish and other inhabitants of their tanks. I look forward to hearing from you all. I am new to this hobby but I have always been an animal lover...so of course I have named my fish...

Yellow Tank: Cooper
Arrow Crab: Ro-Ro

absloutely the sad part is at one time I owned a carpet anemonie i named oscar the grouch. and i started naming my fish burger fries etc cause he would eat everything including his clown fish. he got a diffrent name after that i just can't say it here!

I have a clownfish named bobo. I have a royal gramma named husky (yellow and purple) I have a fire shrimp named sizzle, I had a frogfish named Cow. For the most part I dont really name them unless something about them stands out.

I have a clownfish pair that are 14 or older years old ... I hate to say it but they do not have names. None of my fish do ... Don't ask me why ... but now I would be afraid to name them ... haha

I've become somewhat superstitious about naming fish....as soon as my kid or wife names a fish, it mysteriously dies shortly thereafter.... :doubt: The un-named fish, however, seem to do just fine. :lol: So one of my reefkeeping rules is *Fish Have No Names....* :D

MikeS

I have had the same experience as mike. Every time i or someone else names a fish it dies. There is strict no fish name rule in my house!!!!!!!!!!!