DolphinLvr's 180 build! A dream, becomming a reality!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

DolphinLVR

RF Premium Member
Hello all,

This thread will document the build that I have been dreaming about for the last 25 years!

Many thanks goes out to the members of RF and PSAS for talking to me on the phone and allowing me into your homes to see your setups! Without ALL of you, I would still be trying to figure everything out! And a very special thank you goes out to my wife who has been putting up with my non stop jabber about the system I am about to build!

I have spent countless hours researching and coming up with the following equipment list, your input is as always, greatly appreciated.

My plans for the system are to be mainly LPS and Softies! Maybe a SPS here or there!

I am going to have a 2 inch sandbed and will be using approximately 80 lbs of rock from Marco Rocks and another 20 - 50 lbs of live rock!

I will be posting pictures as soon as I have something to take a picture of other than my blank wall! :lol:

Ok on to my equipment plans!

Tank
180 Gallon 72*24*24 built by Matt with CFI

Sump/Refugium
Not sure of the final dimensions yet, but this is being built by Matt with CFI

RO/DI
http://www.airwaterice.com/product/...RODI-with-Gauge-TDS-Alarm-Dual-TDS-Meter.html
with booster pump as I have low water pressure.

Lighting
My lighting will be LED, I am getting 1 master and 2 slaves from the following:
http://pacificsunusa.com/?page_id=129
I cant wait for these guys to come in!

Skimmer
Matt with CFI is going to build me a killer ATB Medium Cone Clone using a Eheim 1262 as the pump!

Return Pump
I will be using a Eheim 1262 as my return

In tank Flow
Right now I will be using 2 Tunze 6100's with the multicontroller for flow, I can always add 1 or 2 more down the road as needed.

Heaters
I will be using either Via Aqua 300W Titanium x 2 or Finnex with a Ranco dual stage Controller

ATO