D's 40 breeder desk project

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

D-Man

Hi all,

I have been working on a new tank for the last few months and decided to post my progress on reef frontiers since it seems to have a lot of locals active on it. I have been keeping marine organisms for about six years now and this new tank will be my third system.

The new system I am building is a 40 gallon breeder display with a twenty gallon sump which has a 10 gallon water change system plumbed to it.

I built the stand for the tank so I could use half of the counter space as a desk and laptop station. I decided to make the stand bar height because it leaves ample room inside for any equipment I might upgrade to in the future. The stand is built from 2x4's and 2x6's and is skinned in MDF and maple 1/4 inch plywood. The stand is way overbuilt and probably weighs upwards of 300 pounds so it will have no problem holding all the weight.

I also built a canopy for the display tank out of maple 1/4 inch plywood as well.

My livestock from my last tank is being held in a ten gallon tank until a get this new system up and running.

But anyways pictures are better than descriptions so ill try and get some pics loaded up as soon as possible.

Here is what I have been able to get done so far
DSCF0101.jpg

I still need to wrap the bottom of the tank in plywood so none of the black tank frame will show
DSCF0078.jpg

I ordered 50 pounds of dry rock for the tank a while back and have just started experimenting with rockscapes
DSCF0082.jpg

Here is the belly of the beast....
DSCF0083.jpg

DSCF0094.jpg

DSCF0096.jpg

Sump is a twenty long that I siliconed bubble traps and a refugium section into
DSCF0097.jpg

Five stage RO-DI unit
DSCF0098.jpg

tell me what you think I will post more on what my plans are when I get a chance