Help?!? new tank- 22days old....

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

jrzymuscle21

Help?!? new tank- 22days old....well now like 3 months...

I'm new to the marine tank setup... Bought myself a 46Gallon tank 3 weeks ago now.
I have crushed coral and dead rock in my tank for deco. I added dechlorinated sea salted water and then waited 6 days before I added my first fish.
7th day added 3 damsels. one died two days later. at this point, ammonia started to go up to .25 and then for a week it leveled. So on like the 14th day I bought 1 tomato clown, a seargent major damsel(striped) and a cleaner shrimp and blood shrimp. I've fed the fish flakes and pellets and some live brine shrimp.

The fish seem to be doing fine.. water is pretty clear.
I have a biofilter and great aeration and one of those glass heater tubes that have a controlled thermastat. Temperature is set at 79-80 degrees constant.
I also have a blumarine bulb and a regular bulb thats on for a total of 12 hours a day.

Now I'm on my 22nd day and checked the water and here is my results:
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: .5-.75
Ammonia: 1.0 to 1.5
Ph is approximately 7.9

Whats next?
I'm worried the ammonia may get to high and kill the fish...

Suggestions?

THANKS!:razz:

Last edited:
WELCOME TO RF!!

you need to take it slow, your tank has not even cycled yet. the first fish shouldn't be added until your amonia, nitrite, and nitrate all finish spiking and go back to Zero. that amonia and Nitrite in your tank is not good for any livestock. At this point about all you can do is water changes and hope some of them make it through, that or take your livestock to a friend or lfs. For some more info on cycling, do a search here for cycling your tank......you came to the right place....research....research.....and more research.....

Salinity is 1.021 -- i'm using an Aquarium Pharmeceuticals Testing Kit