Noob here. Tanks with Pics!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Gario

I just got rid of my freshwater setups to fund my saltwater fetish. Here are my two setups (just added one), with my problems. I am bad with remembering names of stuff, still working on it. Here goes:

FOWLR 80 gal - about 75lbs of LR, yellow tailed damsel, black/white damsel, fake perc, valentini? puffer, a handful of hermits.

260W 4x65watt coralife cp light, CPR overflow, 20 gallon sump with macroalgae and little starfish (I forgot the name?) (not sure if they're still alive), berlin protein skimmer, 3 powerheads.

Anyway, this tanks been up for a long time, over a year, and theres a ton of algae growth everywhere, more than the hermits can eat.

Recently, I attempted to add some coral and mushrooms to the tank, and my velvet blue damsel made a treat out of them, and nipped at corals (I gave him away, and sadly I gave the corals away as well). Now its back to fowlr. Also, the corals didn't seem very happy either the brief amount of time they were in there. Snails also do not seem to enjoy the tank, as they would die after a few weeks without sign.

I tested the water and ammonia and nitrates were both at 0, but the nitrates were high and I changed the water, about 20% every other day and got the nitrates back down, but they go back up really fast. pH is at 8.2, Calcium is at 450ppm, phosphates are probably high since I'm on tap water, but I will buy some phosphate pads later today.

I am pretty certain that my culprit lies in the substrate, which is pretty coarse crushed coral nitrate factory. How do I change the substrate with the least detrimental effect?
fakepercov0.jpg

yellowtaildamselxr3.jpg

pufferzc5.jpg

What kind of puffer is this?
puffer3fa7.jpg

Nitrate Factory
substratecrushedcoraltt5.jpg