Over Analytical Noob Question....

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Zenoah1439

Hey All,

I'm new to this forum and also new to saltwater tanks. I used to have fresh water tanks, but got out of the hobby once I graduated college (a while ago...). I think my wife got tired of hearing me talk about how much i always wished i had a breeder tank to set up a salt water aquarium so she bought me a new 40G breeder for our anniversary.

I've since been able to get through the Nitrogen cycle and everything seems to be holding solid now (about 5-6 weeks steady now). The fish that i'd like to keep in the tank are now in and everyone seems happy and healthy. I'd have to say that cycling a saltwater tank proved more difficult than cycling my freshwater. It may have just been my particular setup though, who knows. Anyways, I lost 1 fish, a damsel, in the process and the root of my questions is the desire to not loose any more moving forward.

I've got a mixed sand and small rock base with approximately 20-30lbs of live rock (hard to tell as the store i bought it from sells by size and i didn't have the foresight to weigh them, but there's about 7 large rocks). There's 2 power heads, one 250 GPH and one 750 GPH. Each pointed essentially towards each other and aimed at the front glass (hopefully that makes sense). I can always move the power heads or add more and have found a very good LFS who specializes in hard coral and I will be relying on his input for power head quantity, placement, and direction in the future. He actually directed me here.