Starting a Nano Type Tank

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

biggyal66

Panda Goby
I am very new to Saltwater lifestyle and I have a 20 gallon standard tank. I have been doing a lot of reading and research about what it takes to make a good tank. I know a good supply of Live Rock and Live sand is a must to any tank big or small. I am needing to know about the Skimmer and the power heads I would need. My overall goal is to have a pair of Mandarin Dragonet. I am planning to have another tank just for raising Cope's for them. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions. Thanks.

Welcome to RF dood :) .
hmm powerheads, i'd buy some tunze nano ones :) or some 1200 mjs .
skimmers, if you're gonna have a sump i'd go with the asm g1 and mod it :) or if you're not, may be an aqua c Remora, may be an octopus hob something like that.

what type of lights are you gonna put in there dood ?

Welcome to RF!! :) Are you planning on adding in a sump or just incorporate everything on/in the tank? If you don't plan on adding in a sump then I'd probably go with something like an AquaC Remora like Gabby suggested to hang on the tank. Not expensive and will do the trick. As for powerheads, it all depends on if you plan to go with a reef setup how much flow you'll need. Maxijets as suggested as well as tunze nano streams and Seio's will make good powerheads for that sized tank. :)

Good luck and let us know if you have any more questions :)