T5 lights fact or fiction?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

fleetbox

Trigger Happy
I have been doing a little research on T5's. Claims that these lights can produce plenty of light for sps, last 1.5 yrs per bulb, and cheaper to replace bulbs for prices in the $10.00 range.

Does anyone use these lights and if so how would you compare them to VHO? :confused:

Fleet, i have been using a T5 Blue bulb for over 2 yrs now and love it. It is used as supplemental to my MH's and other VHO Actinics. It gives it a nice color that washes out any yellows the MH's produce. It definitley makes a big difference in the look of the tank. Supposedly this bulb spikes stronger than a Radium and im sure it helps color up some of these corals. There are definitely some people running T5's only and have a beautiful tank like danano.

Now, the cheaper part I dont agree with. The bulbs I buy are $20-30 a piece.

I kept my old reef under my 8 bulb t-5 setup... I only used it for 6 months before upgrading my tank, but I kept a derasa and maxima clam under it and lots of types of LPS, SPS... The colors were pretty good as well... The only thing is I know you should change the bulbs atleast once a year...

-Josh

I have done a little more research and found some pretty interesting stuff.

1. Mushrooms are very hard to keep. How do they do in your tank?
2. Most sps love the light.
3. Watts has very little to do with the intensity these lights bring to the table. I read that some people have DOWN graded to MH!
4. Claims that this system almost stops the growth of most corals.

Maybe it is more about how you aclimate your current corals to the light. I would like to hear from you people who use them about how your life reacts to them and what is not a good idea to grow in your tank. I did want lots of light but did not want to run a chiller. Any ideas on how to accomplish this?