The cheato ONLY method of reefkeeping

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

A few differnt times I have mentioned to people that growing algae works great for reefkeeping.

Then people generally want to see some pics. So, I finally took some pics.

Being a broke college student, I have close to $400-500 between both of the tanks in the bedroom. Thats includeing EVERYTHING, calc reactor, tanks, stands, pumps, lighting , rock and livestock for both tanks.

tanks.sized.jpg

This is the tank that has the calc reactor hooked up. It uses the 2L bottles filed with 2cups of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of yeast located next to the fuge to feed the calc reactor. The pH of the calc reactors drip is 7.7 with a calcium level of about 520ppm. The pH of the drip is so high because I made a secondary chamber full of marble chips (CaCO3) which the higher pH solution drips though. I belive this makes it a much safer calc reactor than many units on the market. Costing under 100$ for everything involved was also a plus.

The tank has a few powerheads in it and the return enters from a spray bar at the top which also ensures constant surface turbulance and O2 exchange.

The only filtration is the fuge filled with cheato. I feed it as many times a day as I feel like. There is a large engineering goby that lives in the fuge and is constantly stiring the large chunky substrate to prevent anerobic areas from forming.

The cheato grows at a rate just about exactly dependent on how much I feed. I tossed 6 monster sized prawns in one time when I was on my experimenting with over feeding kick. Never could get the tank to register any NH3/NH4, no2, or no3, and I was checking no3 with the low range kit. Its also never had any appreciable phosphates.

tank1_1.sized.jpg

And here is the fuge. Yes, Im growing monti-cap(brown/green) and pumping xenia in the fuge under 2700k lighting and it grows and seems totally happy.

tank1_2.sized.jpg