University of Washington aquarium hobbyist preference study

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

breckie

Hello everyone,
I am a UW student conducting a study on hobbyist preference in the marine aquarium industry. I joined the club last fall, but I have only been able to attend one meeting since then due to my current work schedule. Last November, Reed was kind enough to answer a few questions for me. I was hoping to post them here to get a better idea of what trade related issues are important to you. I should be getting an occassional Saturday off in the future, and I look forward to meeting you then. Please feel free to leave your comments here, or to email them to me directly at breckmc [at] u.washington [dot] edu. Thanks a lot!

1) Do most people tend to buy their ornamentals online or locally?
2) What are your personal opinions about online purchases?
3) What qualities do you look for in a good aquarium store?
4) What species tend to be more popular and why?
5) What is the difficulty to run a reef style or marine tank when compared to a freshwater system?
6) ...Any other issues you care to discuss?

Thanks again, I look forward to your response!
Breckie

Hi there Breckie.

I am curious, what major/class/or study you are doing this for :)
I hope I can give my thoughts on this when I have some time.

Best,
Ilham

Sure, I am an undergraduate (Junior) in Aquatic and Fishery science. I actually am writing an article for the Secretariat of the Pacific Community Live Reef Fish bulletin. So far most of the articles in this bulletin convey the perspective of science and academia on issues related to the trade, for that reason I want to know what is important to the hobbyist and how this impacts the industry. I presented this research at the Marine Ornamentals conference this last February in Las Vegas and I am now finalizing everything for (my first!) publication. Thanks, let me know if you have any more questions.