Help me design my new 240gal setup!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Slickdonkey

Drink me
Help me design my dream tank!

Hi all, check out this nice new tank I'm buying!

It's a real beauty and if all goes according to plan, I'll have this tank until I retire and sell my house, which will be in about 30 years or so.

I've kept marine fish for about 5 years and never really ventured beyond live rock and invertibrates like crabs and starfish. My primary interest is fish, but I would like to eventually start moving to more of a reef setup with corals and inverts once everything settles down. This is really TBD, but I want to design the setup to accomodate all options. Better to overkill than underkill and find out you have to rework something.

So, I'm hoping I've come to the right place for advice. I'd like to ask the question: what would you do with this tank if you had it? I'm pretty new at this, even though I've had a marine tank for a while. I've been "out of the loop", you could say.

Here are a couple of things to start with:
- I am estimating the weight of the stand, tank, and canopy at up to 3000 lbs once filled with rock and water. The tank will be placed along the living room wall (not an outside wall). I will have a structural engineer come out to check my floor. This house was built in the 70s and literally uses complete tree trunks to support the house. I remember the building inspector when I bought the place saying "they don't make 'em like this anymore..."

- I'm thinking of an under-house design. There is practically infinite room in my crawlspace under the tank. It is about 5'8" high and the footprint of the entire house. I could fit some serious water down there. There is one problem: the only access point is a 2' x 3' entry. So this means lots of 32 gallon rubbermaid cans or I take the materials into the crawlspace and construct something there.