Most reliable and sensitive heater 250 watt

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

frameguy

Hello, I have had good luck in past with Visi-therm heaters for 50 - 180 gallon reef tanks. The new one I bought seems to fluctuate temp. I am taking room temp changes into consideration. What is your feedback for most reliable and high quality heaters? I am currently running a 55 gal reef, no sump. Thanks. Also in past I have kept my reef tanks between 77 and 79 degrees, however i read that keeping tank at 81 or 82 year round is desirable because of summer month temps, and keeping tank at 78-79 in winter months can't be upheld in summer months. Any thoughts? I am new to site and have been impressed with even keeled and non-preachy, "experts" LOL great site and friendly feedback! Cheers from Port Orchard , Wa.

I am running titanium heaters. 2 x 500W controlled by an Apex Neptune controller. I have my tank running at 78 F and the heat is held to within .1 of a degree. I believe the issue with running your tank at 81-81 F is higher electricity bills and also I have heard that running that hot can cause unwanted pathogens to grow easier. I'm sure some of the more knowledgeable members can verify that. Got to be honest, I do not trust glass heaters with their own thermostats. If you run more than one it is very hard to get them reading the same temp and switching off and on together. Not sure of their accuracy.