Motorcycles!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Maxx

Staff Housemonkey
I've seen a few pics of Motorcycles here on the board, and thought we needed a few more.

This is my 2006 Kawasaki Concours.

Left_side-1.jpg

Left_45-1.jpg

Front_1-1.jpg

This is my 2nd bike. My first was a Yamaha V-star 1100 Classic. Thats more of a Harley looking bike. It was a great bike to learn to ride on, (I've been riding for 3 years...took MSF lessons), but I wanted something with better wind/rain protection, hard bags to hold things (like my duty belt when I'm heading to work), and a bigger gas tank to go longer between fill ups.

If my bike looks like it was made in the 80's.....its cause that's when it was designed. In 1986 the First Concours rolled off the line and was built to go against the best Sport Touring bikes BMW had to offer. In the past 20 years, Kawasaki has basically just changed the paint...and not much else.

My bike has a 110 hp engine, (puts about 90 hp to the ground), a 7.5 gallon fuel tank and will carry just about anything I need it too.

Nick

I have added a few things to the bike to make it safer and more comfortable to ride longer.

I added a Headlight and a Brakelight modulator. These act to make the bike more visible to cars on the road with me. I have no desire to be the next statistic or Ben Roethlisberger. The headlight modulator flashes the brights 2-4 times per second making the bike more visible in daylight hours. This helps reduce the chances of someone pulling out infront of me or making a left turn in front of me because they didnt see me. The human eye is atracted to movement and the flashing light definately attracts attention.

The brake light modualtor does the same sort of thing....when the brakes are applied, (either one) the brakelight flashes 3 times, then holds for 3 seconds, and starts flashing again.

Both of these were inexpensive, (less than $100 together) and worth the money.