Question on a cycle of a new tank.......

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Brady

Hello guys... I'm new to SW and my fist tank have been up and running for five weeks now and I have not seen the cycle yet... Can someone please let me know what is the time frame will the cycle starts... basically, I have not done any water changes since....all I did was adding fresh water to replenish the water from evaporations, and maybe 20 minutes cleaning per week.... I don't know what to expect next... my fish are happy, corals are growing...I was thinking if nothing wrong then I don't have to worry about it......However, after reading some of the articles on here that makes me start to worry of what will happen next...I'm not sure if I need to do the water changes or not..... I have brought one week old water to the store to tested out (a month ago) and was told just to add some reef builder and that's all I did.... Any advices will be appreciated :)

are you showing any Nitrates? If so it could be that your tank already cycled. Rothany just got his tank up and running again and he had SPS in his tank in like 23 days. Sometimes a cycle is quick and sometimes they take what feels like forever (although 23 days can feel like forever in this hobby). I think most people here would say "if it ain't broke, don't fix it".

Thanks Josh! I think there should be nitrates in the tank because I have four fish in there.... I haven't tested the water for a month now so it's hard to tell but both my fish and corals are doing good...

I'm new to SW and my fist tank have been up and running for five weeks now and I have not seen the cycle yet.

I haven't tested the water for a month now so it's hard to tell but both my fish and corals are doing good...