Rhodes19's 180 build

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Rhodes19

Hi All,

I thought I would share my 180 build that I have been working on for almost 2 years. I've been into fw since I was 7 back in 1967 and have been doing sw off and on since 1983. About 3 years ago, a friend who had been doing reef tanks got me into it and I started off with a 29g and BC14. I started with softies and some lps in the 29 and when I got the 180 up and running, I transfered everything from the 29 to the 180. My friend got out of reefing but he is living vicariously through me and has no problem helping me spend my money. :D With my wife's permission, I picked up a used 180 rr tank and started to build the stand. With being on a tight budget, I was trying to do as many diy projects as I could. This has been a great leaning experience for me and it is looking like my wife is starting to become an enabler. :D

Ok, picture time.

Here is the 180 in the garage.
1801.jpg

1803.jpg

Some of the 200 lbs of diy rock I made. I use type III portland cement and crushed oyster shell. It turned out ok.

3rdbatch2.jpg

Here is the second attempt at my diy stand. Its upside down in this picture. My first attempt is now a nice sturdy work bench. :D

DSCN0753.jpg

DSCN0760.jpg

DSCN0761.jpg

I painted the back of the tank.

tankpainedback.jpg

tankpainted.jpg

The finished stand with out doors (I'll get to them eventually).

stainfront.jpg

frontwithtank.jpg

medallion1-1.jpg

I turned my old 55g tank into a sump/fuge.

55gsumpdrilledwbulk.jpg

Making bubble traps.

fugbubbletrap3.jpg

sumpinstand.jpg

plumbingpump.jpg

This was one of my earlier rockscape.

rockscape3a.jpg

I didn't like the durso stand pipes and I couldn't do anything about the noise (I was pushing more water than the stand pipes could quietly handle) so I used the Herbie method.

plumbingHerbie6.jpg

I changed the ball valve with a gate valve later on.

plumbingHerbie1.jpg