To reef big? or not to reef big?? LOL

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Xtremedave67

I am in a position to purchase a nice system for a really great price.....
as a newbie, I dont know all the pro's n con's of these larger systems when speaking in terms of plumbing, closed loop vs. not, and larger Acrylic Tanks and being drilled on Bottm for closed loop.
I know Opinions Vary...but is there anything that really stands out to make note of?
is a bottom drilled tank a big red flag? I know closed loops are favored by some but not by others. same as Acrylic vs. Glass

what I am looking at is a 260G 84x24x30 with WELL built stand and canopy, 2 Reef flo darts and a coralife turbo-sea included
2 low profile overflows that plumb to a 2 sump system
the bottom has 2 drains, and 2 returns of closed loop to provide flow to bottom and rock, and 2 returns that enter at top that Y off to 2 loc lines.

System is without Skimmer and calc reactor (sold) and I am opting out from the LONG 3X MH T-5 , LED combo unit, for probably LED's

I wont mention price here, but a fool would pass on this deal, the pumps and sumps alone cost as much new, as I can acquire this system LOL

Any HUGE disadvantages to the above described system that would alter my opinion?

Awesome Dave! I don't have enough experience to chime in but I'll be listening. All I can say is that my 100gal acrylic tank is scrached to hell (by me), wish I knew then how to manage cleaning it like I do now.

I do intend to learn about acrylic maintainence LOL
as far as I could tell, with a recently drained wet sandy tank, the acrylic is in great shape

BTW my intentions are NOT to do a shot gun build, but take my time and acquire the skimmer lights, rock etc.. over time and plan a build, wont do that again on a small scale let alone a large one LOL

definately costly to set up as we all know.......