PEPPIE's AIO CUSTOM BUILD lots of PICS

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Peppie

Hi all I started this build Thread on the DIY site and figured out I posted it in the wrong place. Needles to say I'm new to RF. I wanted a small tank that was easy to maintain. I didnt want to spend alot of money on my first reef build. I didnt want the standard Glass tank sitting on a cabinet with plumbing going up and down.
So this is what I would like to do. You can see the sketch below in the pics.
I took a standard 20gal tank and split into 3rds 2/3 DT 1/3 filter area. I siliconed the dividers in place with addjustable flow gates. Once I fine tune the flow and water level in each of the chambers I will add plastic gutter gaurd to the overflow gate to keep critters were they should be.
My return pump is a QuitOne 1200 @ 296gph. It will feed a fuge chamber at about 50 to 75 gph. I have made room in this chamber to add a Aqualife 115 Nano skimmer and some live rok rubble.
The main overflow will have two compartments divided diagonally (You can see in the pic, the blue divider) to place a media bag if needed.
I wanted to include a freshwaterATO in the cabinet. Its only 1 1/2 gal. Im not sure how long it will last I hope at least 2 to 3 days. Am I dreaming or will I have to top off my topoff every other day?
I wanted to a a little twist to the tank. I was thinking some background light behind the DT part. I gave some extra room behind the DT area to mount some lights and a plastic panel that will be removable. Different colors witch ever color looks best or which one the light will glow thru. Anybody have any luck trying to get this effect?

Got some more work done on the tank. Here are few more pics.